The CASCA/ACURA TMT Advisory Committee


  • Michael Balogh (University of Waterloo) Chair
  • Sarah Gallagher (Western University), Vice-Chair
  • Stefi Baum (University of Manitoba)
  • Chris Wilson (McMaster University)
  • Ray Carlberg (University of Toronto)
  • David Lafrenière (Université de Montréal)
  • Harvey Richer (UBC)
  • Greg Fahlman (General Manager of NRC-HAA, non-voting, ex-offcio)
  • Don Brooks (Executive Director of ACURA, non-voting, ex-officio)
  • Bob Abraham (CASCA President, non-voting, ex-officio)
  • Doug Welch, (Science Governor for Canada on TIO Governing Board, non-voting, ex-officio)
  • Tim Davidge (NRC, observer)
  • Luc Simard (NRC, observer)

Phone: 519 888 4567 x37518

Site Index

CATAC meetings
CATAC Documents and Reports

CATAC meetings

All meetings 4pm Toronto time unless otherwise stated

DateTopicPublic or closedSupport Documentation
Jan 24, 2017Kickoff meetingclosed
Feb 7Update from Board and SAC meetingsclosed
Feb 21 First light instrumentation (minutes)
Presentation (Simard)
Feb 28 closed
March 7 What do Canadians expect from an ELT? (Minutes)public
March 14ORM Site Characteristics (minutes) closedSchoeck Presentation
March 21 AO performance of TMT@ORM
Discussion slides
publicVernin et al. (2011)
TMT Image quality at Mauna Kea and LaPalma (Hickson, updated Mar 24)
Response to above (Schoeck/Vogiatzis)
March 28bMICHI publicEarly Draft of Packham presentation
April 4 closed
April 11 Where does TMT fit in the current landscape of 30-m class telescopes public
April 18 closed
April 25 Can exciting, competitive science be done with TMT@ORM public
May 2 closed
May 9 Next generation instruments public
May 16 Discussion of proposed CASCA agenda and information package (closed)
May 23 Pre-CASCA discussion public

Documents and Reports


Last Updated: 09:03, Fri Mar 24 2017
Contact for additions, corrections or other problems with this page